Zhejiang Facts

Zhejiang is an eastern coastal province of China, with Jiangsu province to the north, Anhui province to the northwest, Jiangxi province to the west and Fujian province to the south, and more than 51.20 million people live in 101800 square km area.

Actually, Zhejiang (crooked river) was the old name of the Qiantang River for the characters of the river, and actually the name of the province is often abbreviated to its first character, Zhe (crooked). Zhejiang province is a mostly mountains region, about 70% of its total are covered by hills. The altitude in the south and west is much higher than the rest parts. The highest peak of the province is the 1921-meter-high Huangyajian Peak which is located in the southwest. Mountains and mountain ranges include the Yandang Mountains, Tianmu Mountains, Mount Tiantai, and Mount Mogan.

The major plains lie in the north of the province along the south of the Yangtze Delta, which consists of the cities of Hangzhou, Jiaxing, and Huzhou etc. the Grand Canal of China enters from the northern border to end at Hangzhou. Another relatively flat area is along the Qujiang River around the cities of Quzhou and Jinhua.

Main scenic spots in Zhejiang Provinces are composed of gardens in traditional Chinese architecture along with area have beautiful landscape, such as West Lake, Humble Administrator's Garden, Lingering Garden etc. Moreover, there are over three thousand islands along the ragged coastline of Zhejiang, among them, the largest one is the Zhoushan Island.

Why Lead to China

Plan Your Trip Today