Jiangsu Facts

Jiangsu, located along the middle, east coast of China and near the mouth of Yangtze River, lives 76.54 million people in 102600 square km area. “Jiang” means the the city of Jiangning (Nanjing) in ancient China, “Su” means the city of Suzhou, and the abbreviation for this province is “Su”. Jiangsu borders Shandong province in the north, Anhui province to the west, and Zhejiang province and Shanghai municipality to the south.

Since the reform and opening up from 1978 led by Deng Xiaoping, Jiangsu province has been a hot spot for economic development and now it became one of the most prosperous provinces in China. With plains covering 68 percent of its total area, water covering 18 percent and most of the province stands not more than fifty meters above sea level, Jiangsu province earned the name of "land of water". The southern city of Suzhou is called "Venice of the East" or the "Venice of the Orient" for its beautiful and harmonious combination of cities and nature.

Jiangsu also borders the Yellow Sea, the Yangtze River. The Yangtze River is the longest river in China, which cuts through the province in the south and reaches the East China Sea. With an altitude of 625 meters, the Mount Yuntai near the city of Lianyungang is the highest point in this province. Large lakes in Jiangsu include Lake Taihu (the largest), Lake Hongze, Lake Gaoyou, Lake Luoma, and Lake Yangcheng.

Why Lead to China

Plan Your Trip Today