Xinjiang Facts

As an autonomous region (Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region) in China, Xinjiang is the largest Chinese administrative division, highly up to 166,000 square km, one sixth of the whole China and more than 21.58 million people live here. Xinjiang borders the Tibet Autonomous Region and India's Leh District to the south and Qinghai and Gansu provinces to the southeast, Mongolia to the east, Russia to the north, and Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, Pakistan and India to the west.

Xinjiang, literally means "New Territory", was given during the Qing Dynasty, and it is home to a number of different ethnic groups and major ethnic groups include Uyghur, Han, Kazakh, Hui, Kyrgyz and Mongol, however, Only about 4.3% of its land area is fit for human habitation, for the Taklimakan Desert and vast Gobi Desert.

As a important area on the road of Silk Road, Xinjiang has a written history of more than 2,500 years, and it has been ruled at various times by the Yuezhi, Xiongnu Empire, Han Dynasty, Sixteen Kingdoms of the Jin Dynasty, Tang Dynasty, Uyghur Khaganate, Kara-Khanid Khanate, Mongol Empire (Yuan Dynasty), Dzungar Khanate, and Manchu Qing Dynasty until the 21st century.

Interesting to know that local residents follow their own official time-Xinjiang time (Xinjiang time UTC+6 time zone, Beijing Time is UTC+8) which means people generally perform their daily tasks two hours later than people in other provinces in China.

Why Lead to China

Plan Your Trip Today