Fujian Facts

Fujian is a province on the southeast coast of China, with more than 35.35 million people live in 124,000 square km area, and borders Zhejiang to the north, Jiangxi to the west, Guangdong to the south and face the Taiwan thru Taiwan Strait.

Actually, the name of Fujian came from the Tang Dynasty. In 733 A.D., for enhance the border defense, Tang took each word from Fu Zhou and Jian Zhou, and named Fu Jian Jinglueshi(the title of the military governor) to govern the Fujian province, and that was the first time the Fujian came into being in history.

Fujian Province is mostly mountainous, as a Chinese saying says "Eight parts mountain, one part water, and one part farmland". In the north, the Wuyi Mountains form the border between Fujian and Jiangxi. Meanwhile, Fujian is the most forested provincial level administrative region in China. It has a 62.96% forest coverage rate in 2009. Besides, the highest point of Fujian is Huanggang Peak in the Wuyi Mountains, with an altitude of 2157 m.

The 180-km-wide Taiwan Strait separates the Fujian from Taiwan. Some of the small islands in the Taiwan Strait are also part of the Provinces, and some other small islands are in the control of Taiwan Government, such as the islands of Quemoy and Matsu.

Why Lead to China

Plan Your Trip Today